Adding users and managing permissions
This article explains how you can add users to a database and how to manage what each user can do or see in your database. For example, you may give some users only the permission to view data, but not to add or modify data.
You may also be interested in our help article with suggestions for managing databases with many users.
A user is a person who has access to a database. User permission determine what a user can see and do in your database.
When you create a new database from scratch, you are the only user of this database and you have all the user permissions within it. ActivityInfo allows for fine grained control of user permissions.
This article will show you how to add and remove users in your database and how your can set user permissions. Don't forget to add partners before adding new users: each user needs to be associated with a partner as the latter is a key component when defining user permissions.
A few notes on how users appear:
- As a database owner, you are not listed as a user because you have all permissions by default and these cannot be changed. This also holds for databases where you have the permission to manage users.
- The user names displayed in the list are those provided by the users in their profile settings. You can therefore not edit these yourself. If you feel that a user's name is incorrect, incomplete or otherwise inappropriate then it is best to send this user an email to request the change.
Locate user settings in a database
Users and their permissions are defined in the "Users" section of a database in the Design tab of ActivityInfo.
Adding users and managing their permissions
To add a user to your database, you need to provide the user's name and email address as well as the partner of which the user is a member. Follow the instructions below to add a user and to set the user permissions.
Click "Add User" and provide the user's details
You can add users that don't have an account on ActivityInfo yet. They will receive an invitation to your database asking them to first create an account on ActivityInfo.
Users with an existing account on ActivityInfo do not receive a message that they have been added to a database. They will see the database in their list of databases the next time they log in or after refreshing the browser.
Set the permissions of the new user
User permission levels
View allows the user to view entries performed by the users assigned to the same partner. Note that this checkbox is disabled: revoking a user's permission to view the database is the same as deleting the user from the database. Therefore if you want to prevent a user from viewing your database you have to use the "Delete" button, not the "View" checkbox.
Edit allows the user to create and edit entries performed by the users assigned to the same partner;
View all allows the user to view entries from all partners;
Edit all allows the user to edit entries from all partners;
Manage users allows the user to add other users/modify their permissions but he can only assign them to the same partner as his;
Manage all users allows the user to add other users/modify their permissions and assign them to any partner contained in the database;
Design allows the user to edit the database and all the forms in contains. Note that only you can delete the database itself, but a user with this permission level can delete everything (i.e. all forms and data) contained in the database so be careful with whom you grant these permissions!
Individual forms can be marked as Published which makes all data entries visible to all users of the database, even if users do not have View all permissions.
Save your changes
Once you are finished adding users and changing user permissions, you need to save these changes by clicking on the "Save" button above the list of users.
Remove users from a database
To remove a user from a database:
- select the user and
- click on "Delete". This change is saved automatically so there is no need to click the "Save" button.
This removes the user from your database, it doesn't remove the user's account on ActivityInfo. If you have removed a user by accident, you can simply add the user back as described above.